Why are you feeling cold, you are Russian, right?

That is the most frequently asked question I get here. The next one, I guess, is “Why don’t you drink, you are Russian, right?”

This is Ufa, my native city, on Dec 1. There will be more snow.

So, yes, I am Russian (although I’m also Bashkir, but that’s a different story) and I spent my whole life in a region where -25 °C in winter is an ordinary thing.

Yes, last winter we had -33 °C for several days in a row, and I still had to be at work on time.

Yes, there is normally a lot of snow and we enjoy snow-fighting, ice-skating, skiing and playing hockey.

Yes, I’m used to seeing snowdrifts that are one meter high.

But that is actually the answer. In Russia, cold and snow are routine. We are prepared.

Why Russian winters are ok

We have really warm clothes. If you want to hear some exotic names, here they are: “shal”, “valenki”, “shuba”, “varezhki” and “sherstyanie noski” are there to keep us warm.

Our street cleaners start every day in winter by getting as much snow off the roads as possible.

We have special car tyres designed for slippery roads, and our motorists know how to start up the frozen engines of their cars.

Our weathermen are often wrong, but they do manage to warn in advance that particularly cold days are coming.

And, most importantly, our buildings have good central heating! And if it becomes cold in a house, residents will be outraged, they will make complaints or even call newspapers to punish people in charge.

Here, it can be chilly even inside. And it’s awfully windy. And I left my “puhovik” at home. And I’m not used to wearing my coat indoors.

And I’m FREEZING!

P.S.: well, ok, maybe the fact that I’m skinny counts as well :)

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Печенье =) on December 21, 2010 at 11:06

    After this article you should wtite “Неу неу, welcome to Russia, friends!!!”

    Reply

  2. Posted by Alexander Garustovich on January 13, 2011 at 21:29

    We also have so called Vodka. You should drink more vodka to be warm and healthy!

    Reply

  3. I was asked this question million times as well. and the coldest winter i’ve ever had was in india

    Reply

Leave a Reply // Оставить комментарий

